The region Marrakesh – Safi is one of the 12 regions that make up the Kingdom: The region with Marrakesh as its capital is composed of a prefecture and 7 provinces: Prefecture of Marrakesh and the provinces of Chichaoua, Al Haouz, El Kelaa des Sraghna, Essaouira, Rehamna, Safi and El Youssoufia. The assembly (regrouping) Marrakesh-Safi reinforces the already proven position of Marrakesh-Tensift-Al Haouz. The number of communes is 215 of which 18 are urban and 197 rural, about 14% of all communes at the national level.


Name: : Région Marrakech – Safi
Capital City : Marrakech
Provinces : Marrakech-Safi-R’hamna-Haouz-Chichaoua-Kelaa S’raghnaEssaouira-Youssoufia
Surface area: : 39 167 Km2 (5,51% de la superficie nationale)
Territorial communes: : 250
Density: : 115,4 Ha/Km2
Geography: : Plains and plateaus in the interior, (ancient) rocks, plateaus on the coast and mountains on the Great Atlas.
Climate: : Continental to semi-continental in general, humid oceanic in the Atlas Mountains and on the coast.


Population: : 4,5 Millions Ha (57% rurale)
Employment rate: : 54,5 %
Annual growth rate: : 1.2%
Urban population: : 1 763 000, 9,94% of Morocco’s urban population


Industry : 651 industrial units
Tourism 1st world destination1st world destination (2015), 2nd world destination (2016). 1st tourist destination of Morocco
Handicrafts : :400 000 craftsmen
Agriculture : The main motor of the national economy, 53% of the region’s active population.
Sea fishing : :Produits de la pêche ( 53730 Tonnes )